Founded in the 10th century by St. Guibert, the Benedictine abbey of Gembloux was rebuilt in the Neo-Classical style during the second half of the 18th century under the direction of architect Laurent-Benoît Dewez. The abbey was dissolved at the time of the French Revolution. In 1860, the Higher Institute of Agriculture was established here. This later became the University Faculty of Agronomic Sciences. Since 2009 and its integration into the University of Liège, the faculty has been known as ‘Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech’ (GxABT).
You can explore the old farm and the barn, which now houses a huge tiered amphitheatre, the main courtyard and the abbatial palace, the monastic area and the cloisters, as well as the 11th-century Romanesque storeroom, which is all that remains of the medieval abbey.
- Opening dates and times Parc et cours accessibles en journée. Pas de visite individuelle.
- Opening dates and times
Visits upon reservation
- € 3 per person. Minimum € 50
- ‘Abbey + Town of Gembloux tour’ package: € 5/person
Organised by the Gembloux Tourist Office
rue Sigebert, 1
Tel.: +32 (0) 81 62 69 60
firstname.lastname@example.org - www.gembloux.be/loisirs/tourisme/office-du-tourisme
- Groups welcome